About Sound@Newschool


Sound@newschool is a group of New School faculty that believe strongly that sound, as a transdisciplinary medium and pedagogical tool, can become integral to course work and curricula across the New School’s undergraduate and graduate programs. Sound is pertinent to many areas of study at the New School, and while a variety of current courses elaborate on the nature of sound, they are often separated artificially by discipline or place sound in a marginalized role subservient to visual media. We aim to explore the disparate sonic studies in our midst and to create opportunities that connect and facilitate dialogue.

The sound@newschool group

Edward Keller – Parsons the New School for Design
Todd Lambrix – Parsons the New School for Design
Shannon Mattern – The New School for Public Engagement
Julie Napolin – Eugene Lang
Jane Pirone – Parsons the New School for Design
John Roach – Parsons the New School for Design
Josephine Holtzman – Media Studies MA Cadidate
Yeong Ran Kim- Media Studies MA Cadidate


We are grateful to the New School Provosts Office for their support in the form of an Innovations in Education Grant which has made our preliminary efforts possible.

 Posted by at 10:42 am